Bulk aging odor question

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rbmorris

Junior
Reaction score
I have 30 gallons of Cab Sauv in a 30 flex tank with french oak staves. The wine is with in less than an inch of the top of the tank. It has been aging since early November. I drew a sample today from the sampling valve and it smells and tastes great. I opened the top of the tank and I noticed what I thought smelled like mildew or green apples. I drew a sample from the top and it indeed smelled like green apples. The taste was similar to the sample taken from the middle of the tank. I also notice sediment in the sample from the top.

Have any of you experienced this? Any ideas of what I should do? this is my first time making this quantity of wine and also the first time in a flex tank. The sample from the sample valve is great and probably the best cab I have ever made, I don't want to risk losing the entire 30 gallons.

You got something else to rack into? Since this is the tanks maiden voyage I wouldn’t feel comfortable leaving it go without inspecting. (Bought new or used?)
If nothing else transferring out will have a nice byproduct of airing the wine out while you figure out what the heck is goin on with the tank.

I have two tanks, both are new. I considered racking and may do just that. I also thought about carefully taking wine off the top and then racking from the bottom. Topping will be necessary but better that than losing 30 gallons.

Green apple seems to be an unusual odor. Some initial thoughts ....

Has the wine completed MLF? This would allow you to load it up with sulfites for protection from oxidation.

Is the wine sitting on significant lees? Then racking it off may clean up the odor but I've found that odors from excessive lees result in H2S production which you certainly won't mistake for green apple.