Broken Thermometer, wine safety concerns?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cintipam

Reaction score
Hi

I'm a newbie and I just noticed my thermometer (Beer and Wine Floating Thermometer by Alla made in France) has broken housing at the non business end top. What looks to be the working parts inside are still intact. Not counting broken glass shards in wine concerns does anyone know if inside that housing had either problematic gas or liquid that would be dangerous in the wine? I believe that between several rackings over several months plus my plan to run that batch thru several coffee filters glass would be non existent by bottling time (not to mention that my cleaning methods while working mostly involve using a turkey baster to jet the sulfite solution over the tools in a tilted bucket which would make any actual glass transfer highly unlikely in the first place). Just hoping some science oriented individual can guide me in how problematic my broken thermometer really is.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Pam in cinti

Hi Pam,

Welcome to winemakingtalk. They use to use mercury in the hydrometer's but fortunately they don't anymore. I believe that you are safe since you have address the issue of the glass.

Thanks Julie

the thermometer clearly said mercury free, so no worries there. I am actually teetering between pitching it to be safe just in case. It's just so hard when you only have a couple batches fermenting and none near completion to pitch the entire thing. At this point I'm letting it sit anyway since I was experimenting for the first time with a yeast slurry so I might as well find out if I did that correctly or not. Besides, that gives me more time to hear more opinions.

Pam in cinti