Brettanomyces yeast infection

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wood1954

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Well the good news is MLF worked really well, this years harvest is nice and mellow. The bad news is that it’s all contaminated with Brett. It smells like sewage. I’m debating tossing all 24+ gallons. By not adding so2 after fermentation so it could undergo MLF I-must have allowed the Brett yeast to proliferate. Another hard lesson learned. I could smell it even before I removed an airlock.
At least 2020 vintage turned out wel. This is a tough hobby, I would never do this for a living.

I suspect H2S is the problem, it's much more likely than brett. You can test by stirring a small sample with copper wire, if the smell goes away it's H2S. Don't drink the sample. There are products on the market to treat H2S such as Reduless.

I just sent my stash of reduless to Riceguy, it doesn’t smell like h2s tho, it smells like my neighbors barn. I just had hand surgery on my hand but once it’s healed up I’m going to try racking several times and add so2, see what happens.

When you said "neighbor's barn" I thought of this from Wine Folly:

Microbial and Bacterial Taint …aka I think something is growing in there
  • How you can tell: Again, there are many other bacteria involved in winemaking. They impart certain positive flavors but also produce signature wine faults. For example, if your wine smells like a gerbil cage, sommeliers call this “mousy,” often found in natural wines.
    When you try a wine and breathe out and get a whiff of hay bail, this is called “ropiness” and suggests another over-productive wild microbe.

Think of microbes like spices. In the right quantities, they add an appealing complexity but too much overwhelms the wine.