Brand spanking new...

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vaudun

Novice wine maker, veteran wine drinker
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm brand new to wine making. I've just put up my first batch of peach wine as a trial run. It's been going for about 5 days, at this point. This is what it looks like.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/81tmfws5mGQK9FtV7
I've read on many sites that you should check your specific gravity frequently. I've also read that you should not return the sample from your hydrometer to your fermenter.

The hydrometer that I bought came with a 250 ml cylinder. My question is, what should I do when making a gallon of wine? If I pour off a quarter of a liter whenever I test my SG, if I test it 4 times, I've lost about a quarter of my product before I even rack my wine.

I know alot of guys might not agree, and I haven't been doing this nearly as long as most of these guys. But, as long as I have everything, and I mean everything sanitized I will return it to the carboy as long as it didn't touch anything else. Also, frequently is a little bit vague. I tend to only check it after a week or so of primary. That tells me when it should be ready to rack to secondary or when it's close, then I check to before I rack. Then after that I check to make sure it's finished and to backsweeten. I feel your pain I started with one gallon jugs and didn't want to lose a full 750ml just checking gravity. I'm sure everyone has there own process and protocol. But for me atleast so far. I always return it, just being careful to always make sure everything is clean and has been in starsan. Hope that helps/makes sense.