Bottling in glass juice bottles

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John Kimble

Junior
Reaction score
Team,
I have a serious surplus of glass juice bottles with twist cap. I'm wondering if properly cleaned and sanitized can I bottle an aged wine in them? If so, and if anyone has first-hand experience doing this, how long can the wine be effectively kept, is there a higher oxygen permeation etc?
Image of bottle attached.

Attachments

• 15722067255047062722426472316582.jpg
    15722067255047062722426472316582.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 40
Cmason1957 is correct. Mason jars must be boiled to create the proper vacuum seal for preservation. Just putting on the metal cap and ring won’t work for long term preservation.

Really? Unheated mason jars won't work? I'm a newbie and completely uneducated but it seems mason jars would work, in regards to the seal. I've used them for storing miscellaneous things through the years (other than canning meat in them) and many times when I go to open one there is definitely a seal on them...either a gasket seal of sorts or a slight vacuum seal.