blending?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ken914

Reaction score
I have no experience with blending wines.

In April, most of my wines will have bulk aged 6-8 months. All of them have already been f-pak'd, but not back-sweetened. I'm thinking about trying some blends in either 1g or 3g carboys. My thoughts are to blend and then let the new wine age for 3-6 months before bottling.

One that I'm going to try is a peach-strawberry. Can anyone recommend others that might be good to experiment with?

My blending schedule is very similar to what your proposing. I make all the wines you have listed, except the Pear. Strawberry-Peach is one of our favorites. i also like Blueberry-Elderberry, also mix blueberry with some of my reds. Not sure what others would go with your Apple [ like mine straight], or your Pear. I make a B S Peach that's a real hit. Basically it's a banana, 2 lbs. strawberries, & 6 lbs. of peaches to make 2 gals. of wine, fermented together. try small amounts of different wines blended together before you make larger batches. I need to be SUPERVISED during blending, it's just SOOO much fun! Roy

Blend your apple and pear. Perhaps 2/3 apple to 1/3 pear. When I make my own cider I add pears. It sweetens up the mix.

Do small sample blends first, then you can use the pearson square in the Tutorial section to help you if you would like to adjust ph/acid etc. as well.

I get ideas in the grocery store looking at the different fruit juices.

I also did 2 years ago an apple cranberry pear that was awesome. Don't recall the blend amounts.

Last edited:
FTC - thank you. While each wine and personal taste is different, ratio do you use as a starting point for mixing?

DJ, I'll try some apple/pear! Thanks!