Beginner's success and newfound confidence!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lilvixen

Reaction score
I started a WE World Vineyard Trinty Red over Memorial Day. This is my first attempt at wine making and at kit making, so I went by the instructions, other than adding a pinch of tannin and giving it an extra 7 weeks in the carboy before bottling. I bottled on Saturday with a yield of 29.5 bottles (the bottle filler stopper didn't cooperate on bottle 27...).

I thiefed a sample from the carboy on Friday night, and hubby and I weren't impressed at all. It had a weird plastic-y/manufactured flavor we couldn't pinpoint but just wasn't good. I chocked it up to my first attempt and/or the kit I chose.

We decided to drink the half-full bottle with dinner, so the wine sat with just a regular stopper in the bottle for about 6 hours. We used an aerator on the wine, just because we knew it was young and hoping to quell that weird flavor.

On Friday night, we ranked the thiefed sample as a 2 out of 5 - we wouldn't throw it out, but we wouldn't offer it to friends. On Saturday, the weird taste was barely detectable, and it was actually good! It stood up to our grilled chicken and veggie dinner and we upped the ranking to a 3.5 out of 5 - we'd serve it to friends as a casual table wine.

It still tastes young (obviously), and it has no smell (nose?), but I have so much more confidence in this hobby now! We finished off the last glass from a commercial bottle of Chianti that I used for top up for my Super Tuscan kit, and we actually preferred my Trinity Red to the Chianti! WHAT?!

I'm so excited :h