Beginner Here.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Czaccary

Reaction score
I currently just started my journey and very excited for the future! I have my primary fermentation going at the moment with a tight lid and a airlock- that’s what the instructions told me so that’s what i did. ( however i have seen a lot of debate on whether to not have a airlock or keep a loose lid. So I’m currently on the research of that myself)
If in theory i did go my air lock with a tight lid i wouldn’t want to open it at any point of the next 14 days correct? I’m assuming that’s the idea of keepin it all locked up in the first place? I do see people seeing after 5-7 days the primary is ready to go and they measure the stuff but would i want to open my tight air lid to check or just continue the 14 days?
Also going into my secondary fermentation I’m determined I’m going to add the same wine to fill the head space so I’ve seen is a pretty good .

Welcome to Wine Making Talk

Fermentations are fairly forgiving, you can thumb your nose and it still works.
Yeast need to reproduce and build a population to quickly/ safely do their job. Yeast budding requires oxygen so it is useful to be oxygenated when starting. (FYI your package mixing whips in oxygen) ,, At about 1/3 sugar reduction the density of yeast is high enough that they stop budding and switch to consuming sugar mainly producing alcohol and CO2 . ,,,, As a fruit wine maker I try to filter out any fruit pulp at about 2/3 sugar reduction and put under air lock, ,, knowing that outgassing will create a safe reductive environment again. ,,,, If I was a red wine maker I would know that the polyphenols are antioxidants so I could thumb my nose at RiceGuy and run an open primary down to 0.991 safely.