Beginner Grape Vine Grower

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nate3592

Junior
Reaction score
Hi all!

I'm receiving two, two-year old grape vines next week. I'm a complete beginner and have no prior knowledge of growing grape vines. I've come to this forum for some guidance as I start to learn. I live in North Carolina, and the vines are scheduled to arrive in two weeks (mid-November).

What should I do when they arrive? A timeline and description of basic instructions would be very helpful. Enough so that I'm competent for the next few months while I set everything up.

Thanks so much!

What nursery is sending the vines? What kind of grapes and where are you in NC? Usually grapevines are shipped and planted in early Spring (Feb-May or June). Muscadines are slightly different and some nurseries suggest planting in late fall (Nov 15 to April). If you are buying from a mail order nursery, they will give you a planting guide for your area. If you are South Coastal NC, you are probably right to be planting now. The Western Mountains? NOOOOOOOO! With more information, some folks here can help you out.

I need some advice for some grape vines that have overgrown. Pictures attached. Where should I lop off and restart to get more productive vines?
Should I just keep a single trunk or it ok to go with the 2 branches?
At what height should I put the first wire?

Attachments

• IMG_6715.jpg
    IMG_6715.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 20
Generally two trunks are best. To answer your other questions, tell us what varieties and where you are located.

2 different peeps asking questions.

Yea taking delivery in November is generally a little ambitious. Hopefully the vine will already be dormant/asleep/look dead.