Banana wine, what the..!!!???!!!???!!!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
My first banana wine.
4/7 Put everything together, SG 1.084.
4/8 Added yeast, foam in 4 hours!
4/9 Yikes, SG 1.050!
4/10 SG 1.002, racked, still going crazy, bubble through airlock about every half second.
I don't know if my brew room is a curse or a blessing?

View attachment 86831
Wow. Another fast one. Looks like a “nice” color.

Wow. Another fast one. Looks like a “nice” color.
Yeah, I don't know what's going on. I'm thinking possibly since I've been using that small room (door always closed) for 5 months that maybe I have wine yeast in the air and there's been an extra day of work before my yeast is added. It's one of those "I wouldn't believe it if I hadn't seen it with my own eyes" thing.

Oh, and it tastes really good!

Are you making small batches and using a whole pack of yeast? You are doing well with the SG; not overshooting and that is key. Most of my ferments take off pretty fast if my SG is good. I've only had a couple stall out....the most recent Chardonnay kits that I started under airlock - finally hitting 1.004 or 0.998 (depending on which hydrometer I use).

I had one ferment that completely failed. I was trying to make a praline wine with a praline syrup. Sorbate was not in the list of ingredients but it must have been loaded with sorbate. It NEVER started and when I would try a yeast starter, adding a half cup of the must would kill the starter. It was dumped.

Are you making small batches and using a whole pack of yeast? You are doing well with the SG; not overshooting and that is key. Most of my ferments take off pretty fast if my SG is good. I've only had a couple stall out....the most recent Chardonnay kits that I started under airlock - finally hitting 1.004 or 0.998 (depending on which hydrometer I use).