Banana Wine - forgot to cut up raisins

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

daveb50

Reaction score
2006-02-26_140730_Banana.jpg

I have6 gallons of banana wine going, beginningSG 1.100. I racked it to secondary today, Sg is now 1.010. When racking, I realized that I hadn't cut up the raisins when I added them.
smiley3.gif
They were bloated, but still intact, and sweet tasting. I squished them up with gloved hands and added them to secondary. How long should I leave them before racking again?

Edited by: DaveB50

I would leave them in as long as there is still fermentation

Thanks for the reply Waldo. This is my first try at wine from fruit.I had hoped Ididn'tmess it up. Till now I've onlymade wine fromkits and canned concentrates. Edited by: DaveB50

Dave,

Wine is a pretty forgiving substance to work with. You have to do something darned drastic before it is not fixable. That's what makes it so much fun to do!
smiley32.gif

Curt said:
Wine is a pretty forgiving substance to work with.

Good thing for me. LOL. Good also to have a forum like thisto help keep me out oftrouble

Banana Wine update:

12 days after starting it at 1.100, my banana winw is down to .998

2006-03-02_183419_Banana_03_03.jpg

Oh! I like that color!
smiley32.gif

Okay, I can'ttake it! I have to sing it! Yes! We have no bananas! We have no bananas today!
banana.gif

PolishWineP said:
Oh! I like that color!
smiley32.gif

Okay, I can'ttake it! I have to sing it! Yes! We have no bananas! We have no bananas today!
banana.gif

Yes, We have no bananas. But we'll have some kick butt banana wine tomorrow. LOL.

I racked the Banana a couple days ago, I'm now down to 5 gallons. I had to have a little taste, WOW
smiley3.gif
, can you say Rocket Fuel? It does have a very good mouth feel though, and a very nice Banana aroma, once you get through the alcohol.