Are there any "Homemade" wine clarifiers?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MSLISAJ

Junior
Reaction score
I have been making wine now for about 12 years and I do five to six gallon batches. In that time I have only had to use a clarifier once with great results. I have moved into the "country" now and don't have a good wine supply supplier close any more. The store that is here sells some wine things like yeast and corks but not much else as they are geared toward beer. I currently have a batch of wine that is not clearing, smells and tastes good but is very cloudy. It needs a clarifier. But when I go on line to buy a product the clarifiers are relatively cheap for a small packet but then there is a $10 or so shipping and handling fee. I don't want to buy so much of this product as to make the outrageous S&H fees justifiable so I need to figure out how to clear this wine on my own.
BTW, I am not blaming the businesses as I do understand what it takes to stay in business. I do realize there are costs to shipping too, ie: envelope, time to put the packet and the first class stamp. Plus they are not going to want a credit card for the fees and all that. I go get it. I just have a simple problem with a good wine that I need to fix.
I so appreciate the help.

Lisa

Both time and cold stabilizing help clear the wines without adding a clarifier. It may just need more time. Also bring the temps up to the low 60's and degas it. Sometimes the gas keeps it from clearing. If that doesn't work, I would send for a packet of SuperKleer. It may cost $15 with shipping, but 25-30 bottles of a nice clear wine are at stake!