Apple Wine Help

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

davemo

Reaction score
Ok i am pretty new to wine/mead making and have been pretty successful thus far.I have 4 or 5 5gallon batches that i have made to completion.But i got a question on this batch ,first detail of the batch.It is a 5 gallon batch of apple juice wine using apple juice with only ascorbic acid in it..i added sugar to get the sg up to 1.090 then pitched cote de blanc yeast with 3 tsp yeast nutrient,and 1/4 energizer.

One week ago at sg of 1.01 i racked to a secondary better bottle carboy and added 1/4 yeast nutrient.i noticed what i ASSUME was fermentation with small bubbles coming up the side and collecting at the top of the carboy and the airlock bubbling very lightly but steady.The temp in the fermentation room is around 55 degrees and i decided to end the fermentation instead of having it slowly drag on.So yesterday i took a ph strip test at around 3.2 and i believe around.75 tataric acid(i know that's high still getting used to the test kit titration kit i believe)so i added 1 1/4 tsp pf potassium sorbate and 1/4 potassium meta that i had gently heated to dissolve together to stop the fermentation and the wine started foaming like crazy enough to where i had to put my hand over the top of the carboy and let the gas escape.Now since i have always let my wine ferment completely dry before adding stabilizer i want to know is this normal for wines still fermenting? I checked today and i still have some fine bubbles at the top of the carboy so what do i have going on here????? Thanks For The Help All

Hi Dave. I posted the same below on the other forum.