Apple Wine/Cider Season... how do you roll?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
My local orchard said they have started pressing and have juice ready to sell. Someday I hope to get a press.
I have searched this forum for a good recipe to ferment pure apple juice and couldn't find anything, but my wife says I am not good at finding things.
Any advice?
Going for 5 gallons.
White sugar, brown sugar, honey, step feed, back sweeten?
To spice or not to spice?
So many options...

thanks,

Adam

Always the contrarian, the best recipe is the recipe for the flavors and tastes you want. In my opinion, good apple juice - and by that I mean juice pressed from apples with the right level of acidity, the right amount of tannins, the right amount of sugar, the right amount of liquid needs only access to the right yeast and that could be indigenous yeast - and so you have scrumpy or lab cultured yeast and so you have a more .. um.. refined cider. But adding sugar or spices? Back sweetening? That's like gilding the lily. Of course, if you don't have access to good apple juice, then you don't have a lily to begin with...
Bottom line? I would seek out the very best orchard pressed juice I could find and either make some scrumpy (and that can be risky) or aim for a more refined cider perhaps using 71B as your yeast (71B has an affinity for malic acid and tends to soften it's harshness through I am not sure what process transforming malic into lactic