Other Anyone Adding Fruit to their Wine Kits?

Help Support Wine Making Talk:

MrWine

Junior
Reaction score
Hi there, I am very new to making wine. I am wanting to add a fruity flavour to my wine to enjoy during the summer months. I have been trying to do research to get some info on the matter. I have a Reflexion Pinot Grigio wine kit. I am wondering if I can simply clean the fruit and add it to the secondary?

Any info or help you can provide would be greatly appreciated

WVMountaineerJack

Reaction score
Not so sure its tricky vs just doing it with a little common sense to not throw the kit out of balance. Strawberries are one of the best to add, just drop them in whole or sliced at the end of the primary to give a lot more bouquet when you open the bottle. A few elderberries, dried or fresh and boost the color and add a little flavor. You have to be careful when you add really acidic fruits like raspberries, you dont want to throw the acid balance out of whack. WVMJ

Hi there, I am very new to making wine. I am wanting to add a fruity flavour to my wine to enjoy during the summer months. I have been trying to do research to get some info on the matter. I have a Reflexion Pinot Grigio wine kit. I am wondering if I can simply clean the fruit and add it to the secondary?

Any info or help you can provide would be greatly appreciated

bkisel

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum!

The last kit I did, an RJS VdV Italy Valpola, I reused, in primary, a grape skin pack from a previous high end kit and added 1 pound of raisins for 7 days in "secondary". Tried a sample just before going into bulk aging and liked what I tasted.

Last edited:

wildvines

Reaction score
My eclipse Pinot noir I added a pound of blackberries and 10g of tannins into my secondary. Ph was good and Came out awesome.

Sent from my iPhone using Wine Making

kevinlfifer

Reaction score
I have added 3 lb frozen blackberries to a cheap (paklab) Barolo, quite nice.