WineXpert Almost 2 year old LE 19 South Africa Cape Blend is now Tasting Off

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RiderEh

Reaction score
Hi All,

I have a 2019 LE South Africa Cape Blend in which I still have quite a few bottles left. I've been drinking it slowly, though we typically don't start into our wines until 12-18 months. It's been a good wine until a bottle I tried this weekend, it tasted super alchoholic. Very Alchohol forward and lost a lot of it's charachter. We used synthetic corks.

The one thing with this wine, is we experimented and did not add sorbate or k-meta. We did this to see if it would impact the wife, who typically gets headaches after 2 glasses of red.
Could this have done it? Or maybe it's our first bad bottle. I did not try opening a second bottle.

Anyways I've been making wine since 2013, so if this is just a bad bottle, that won't be bad!

No, I do not typically check the Ph of my wine. I did not realize the k-meta would affect it that much, it's such a small packet hah. I may try to open a bottle soon and have a glass.

I'm also finding this and the Forza seemed to drop a lot of fines in the bottle at about 2 years, previously I never had wines do that as much as these two. I do not filter my wine and typically bottle at about 4 months.

I'm also finding this and the Forza seemed to drop a lot of fines in the bottle at about 2 years, previously I never had wines do that as much as these two. I do not filter my wine and typically bottle at about 4 months.
You might try bulk aging the reds a bit longer, 6 to 8 months. That gives the wine time to drop fine sediment (I don't filter either).