Airlock overflow

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jswo23

Reaction score
Okay so I'm new at wine making, and on my third day my airlock overflowed on my 1 gallon batch. I may had way to Much to begin so I pour 1/4 a cup out and re sanitized everything, then cleaned the airlock, sanitized it and added distilled water, placing it back on the top. I know I should restrict how many times I open the lock, but should I do anything else or is this batch screwed up?

Not knowing anything about your batch, but if it is the third day of fermentation, I'm guessing it is the foaming from active fermentation, and you should be fine. the reason to minimize removing the airlock is to reduce oxygen exposure-after fermentation. As long as the yeast is actively growing, it needs some air.

It's a cheap quick
Batch red wine made with welchs grape juice concentrate and EC-118 champagne yeast, with yeast nutrient, pectic enzyme, and benonitr clay.

Hmmm, not something I've tried, but I think perhaps removing the airlock and giving it a bit of a careful stir everyday or so will be good for the yeast. When you read ~1 Brit or less, then I'd keep the airlock tight and top off as the bubbling and foam subsides. Have fun:h

The must should NOT be under airlock during primary ferment. Besides for the fact that your must will overflow, you are starving your yeast from much needed oxygen. The must should be in a bucket that is covered by a towel (to keep out those critters that seem to love ruining wine as much as we like making it), and left. Every day, it should be stirred to aerate the must, further feeding the yeast its much needed oxygen. SG should also be taken to keep track of where its up to... Then cover it back up and leave it alone.