Adding twice the amount of SO2

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kuziwk

Reaction score
So I screwed up on two premium showcase red kits...don't ask lol. With my tannin addition I accidentally added another 4 grams of Sulphites to each kit racking after clearing. With the 4g provided with each kit that comes to 8g Sulphites total for each...or essentially almost an additional 3 x 1/4 tsp additions. Should I just bulk age and wait it out or attempt to splash rack? Lucky for me I'm just getting into testing for Sulphites but I haven't set up the lab yet. I guess I'm ok with bulk aging 9 months or so, provided the Sulphites disapate.

Last edited:
* From your post I read that the fermentation is done, if fermentation is done sulphite is cumulative, you just did it early. I have done a 10x math error pre ferment and wound up tossing that fruit since it wouldn’t start.
* Next decision point is can you taste it? If you don’t taste it my answer would be sit on my hands and wait. If your taste is obvious you can consider racking, if the purpose is to drink it NOW. I have put a high level on a surface yeast infection, could tase it fresh but was below taste threshold in 3 months.
* 2x won’t kill you and you aren’t the first to do it.

* From your post I read that the fermentation is done, if fermentation is done sulphite is cumulative, you just did it early. I have done a 10x math error pre ferment and wound up tossing that fruit since it wouldn’t start.
* Next decision point is can you taste it? If you don’t taste it my answer would be sit on my hands and wait. If your taste is obvious you can consider racking, if the purpose is to drink it NOW. I have put a high level on a surface yeast infection, could tase it fresh but was below taste threshold in 3 months.
* 2x won’t kill you and you aren’t the first to do it.