Adding strawberry puree and chocolate syrup after fermentation

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

albaker

Junior
Reaction score
This is my first attempt at making wine, and I did purchase a winexpert kit. Fermentation is complete, and I just finished with stabilizing and degassing. Tomorrow, the instructions say it's time for clearning and adding the flavor bag, but I didn't want to add the flavor bag that came with the wine. I have some strawberry puree and chocolate syrup to put in its place.

I guess a little backstory. We had a winery in Oklahoma that had the best chocolate strawberry wine (yes, we like the sweeter wines), but the owner contracted COVID a couple years ago and passed away. That was so tragic, and no more wine is being produced. I figured if we can even get 1/2 way close to what they had, I'd be very happy.

I understand the extra sugar will cause additional fermentation, which I don't want. Tomorrow calls for putting chitosans in with the flavoring bag. What's the thought about adding the other ingredients (chocolate/strawberry) in the same proportion that's in the flavoring bag? The chocolate syrup does have cane sugar, but the strawberry puree has no additional sugar. Do I need to add any additional potassium metabisulphite?

Thanks for your input.

If the flavor pack that came with the kit had any sugar in it, then a packet of sorbate probably would have been included as well. Sorbate prevents refermentation of sugar. As long as you add sorbate, feel free to add your flavorings of choice.

Strawberry is a very delicate flavor so equal portions of chocolate flavoring might overwhelm the strawberry. Practice adding various mixtures to a glass of wine to hone in on a starting point.