Adding Nutrients if the Yeast Doesn't Need Them?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Boatboy24

No longer a newbie, but still clueless.
Reaction score
A total beginner here, but I'm wondering what the impact on a wine would be if you were to add nutrients during Primary if the yeast didn't actually need them. Any impact on the wine at all, or would they just settle out? Thanks!

Love this place - so much learning to do here.

But the yeast DOES need nutrient. Nutrient allows the yeast to reproduce more easily, allowing a rapid ferment. Rapid ferments are better because your wine is protected under the cover of CO2. Slow ferments are difficult to control and not recommended for beginning winemakers. But many experienced home winemakers don't try them either because they don't have the equipment to do it, like a commercial operation has.

It also improves clearing and the yeast's tolerance to alcohol. So always use nutrient in all your primary fermentations.

I see you have made a few post about wine kits. Just remember that a wine kit will have the yeast nutrient already added in so you should not need to add more. Mosti Mondial is the only Kit I know that actually has you add the (supplied) nutrient into the must close to the end of primary fermentation. If you are making country wines etc. from a recipe then you will obviously need to keep some on hand.

Its just like fertilizer for your lawn. The yeast will grow without them, but grow faster with them.

Thanks so much for your input. Based on the replies, it sounds as if no harm would be done in adding nutrients.

Going back to the OP, any nutrients not used by the yeast will settle out in the lees. Most nutrients have some contents that must settle out anyway, like yeast hulls, etc.