Acid & so2

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ryan Hubble

Junior
Reaction score
Noob here.
Got 100L of argentia ridge shiraz from costco brewing up and headed for an aging barrel (skipping fining, stabilizing, degassing). Once it ferments down below 1 I'm adding the potassium metabisulphite pack that comes with the kits and racking into the barrel.

I'm thinking of adding a quarter teaspoon per week of potassium metabisulphite while in the barrel (100L), and was wondering is this a good amount and also should I add some acid? I prefer puckery over moldy.

Noob here.
Got 100L of argentia ridge shiraz from costco brewing up and headed for an aging barrel (skipping fining, stabilizing, degassing). Once it ferments down below 1 I'm adding the potassium metabisulphite pack that comes with the kits and racking into the barrel.

I'm thinking of adding a quarter teaspoon per week of potassium metabisulphite while in the barrel (100L), and was wondering is this a good amount and also should I add some acid? I prefer puckery over moldy.

Just sharing my opinion regarding barrel loading, consider letting the wine go dry and do some degassing in carboys before loading, it’ll save you a load of trouble having to rack out of the barrel to clean it and reload. You’ll end up with lots of sludge in the bottom if the wine hasn’t cleared / settled a little bit.

Regarding sulfite, your best bet is to test and adjust monthly when you top up. If you top up well, the sulfite levels are not so critical. Find the pH of your wine so you know what levels you should be at when adjusting.

Pesonally, I wouldn’t mess with the acid levels, kits come properly adjusted.