Absolute newbie – SP DB style

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jelleybean

Wino
Reaction score
Hello to all my fellow winos out there. I am a new member here and have never attempted to make wine before, but am quite accomplished in drinking it. A bit about myself, I am a male, mid 40s, happily married (for now, she is not too keen on my new hobby) and live in the great state of Alabama. I recently visited a friend of mine in Atlanta and he showed me 10 gallons of wine in two carboys clearing nicely. I asked him how he got started, and he said just look it up on the internet and you will find plenty of information. I did this and obsessively read through several forums, blogs, YouTube videos and finally ended up here. Seems like a nice place, so I decided to kick my feet up and stay a while.

First let me say special thanks in advance first to Lon for creating the original recipe for “skeeter pee” and sharing it with the world on this board and www.skeeterpee.com. Second special thanks in advance to DangerDave for adapting the original recipe (daring to be creative) into the “Dragon Blood” style, and listing his process in such a simple and straightforward way that even a complete newbie can make it (hopefully). Thanks as well to all of the other members of this forum who post here and share knowledge. What little knowledge I have learned about winemaking to date, has primarily come from your posts, pictures, advice, answers to questions, etc. Thanks again.