A few questions, newbie here

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi everyone, i'm very glad to have found this forum as I'm new to wine kit making.

First, I am on my second kit. My first one was a Cabernet-Sauvignon and it went well, maybe an after taste that I can't describe but overall it was nice for my first time.

Now i'm on a Vieux Château du Roi in my primary fermenter, it does a lot of bubbles and sizzle so I guess the yeast are working hard.

My question is if I want to make it stronger, is it okay to add sugar so the yeast will increase alcool degree ?

If yes, what kinda sugar ? Ordinary sugar or fructose/glucose ?
If it's okay, do I have to add more yeast ?

Currently, I am using Lalvin EC-1118.

Thank you for any help, I know there are a lot of expert here :)

first off do you have a hydrometer? most sugar additions should be done with a sugar hydrometer monitoring specific gravity levels. you can add regular table sugar no additional yeast is required. nominally your kit should have a sg=1.092 that Will yield a 12% abv. to raise the specific gravity .020 5 cups sugar for 5 gallons should do the trick your hydrometer has a scale giving potential alcohol for specific gravity. if not Google for a table.

Thanks for the quick reply :)
Yes I do have a hydrometer, my first batch started out at 1,080 and it was 0,992 at the end (the instructions said that I must have 0,996), not sure how much alcohol it makes because i am not very comfortable with the % reading (it has both reading) but I do know that I have to take it easy on drinking , kinda strong but like I said, it has an after taste that I can't describe.
It is not that bad but not perfect.
I followed all the instructions given in the kit.