3 gallon wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Copterdoctor

Junior
Reaction score
I am new to wine making. I have my first batch going now. I have been looking at doing a dessert wine next. I have noticed the most dessert wine kits only come in 3 gallons. My question is, will my 7.9 gallon primary fermenter be sufficient for this? I understand I will have to get a 3 gallon carboy. But will I have to get a smaller primary? Thank you in advance.

That's a lot of head-space, but I think that I would use an airlock immediately on this, as a loose cover is probably not needed initially. I think that there is plenty of O2 to get it going, after that the CO2 will blanket it.

That's a lot of head-space, but I think that I would use an airlock immediately on this, as a loose cover is probably not needed initially. I think that there is plenty of O2 to get it going, after that the CO2 will blanket it.

Thanks.

I am new to wine making. I have my first batch going now. I have been looking at doing a dessert wine next. I have noticed the most dessert wine kits only come in 3 gallons. My question is, will my 7.9 gallon primary fermenter be sufficient for this? I understand I will have to get a 3 gallon carboy. But will I have to get a smaller primary? Thank you in advance.

You’ll be just fine fermenting the 3 gallon kit in your large fermenter, just make sure to transfer to your 3 gallon carboy as fermentation comes to a halt.

Ditto on what Johnd stated.

No airlock needed until you rack into a carboy. Just use a thin, tight weave cloth like a sheet or towell. I always tie it on tight with a cord to keep out suicidal fruit flies. That added depth just means a greater volume of CO2 can be kept over the must.