2 week mark on Wine kit

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gregO83

Junior
Reaction score
Hello all. My father and I made a EC Kraus Rosso Fortissimo 2 weeks ago. It’s now time to transfer to carboy per the instructions. He has been punching down the grape skins every other day. My question is how much longer can we let it sit in the primary? Due to the current conditions I am trying to stay away from my parents since I work in healthcare. He cannot transfer alone because I don’t trust him lifting the vessel. I was planning on just going there and keeping my distance since the wine is out in the garage but I’m sure this will make him sad if we don’t do it together since it’s our hobby. How much damage could be done to the wine if it’s left in primary for awhile?

thanks!
Hope everyone is doing well.

I think you need to get it out of the bucket sooner, rather than later. If you (maybe we) thought another day or week and all would be clear, then waiting would be okay, but I don't think that is the case. Once you get the wine under airlock, which is what happens after this initial rack, you can wait a good long while, but right now, timing is a little bit more important. Masks and gloves maybe??

I think you need to get it out of the bucket sooner, rather than later. If you (maybe we) thought another day or week and all would be clear, then waiting would be okay, but I don't think that is the case. Once you get the wine under airlock, which is what happens after this initial rack, you can wait a good long while, but right now, timing is a little bit more important. Masks and gloves maybe??

thanks for the response! It is under airlock but the amount of headspace is concerning.