WineXpert 1st time to bottle

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dawnlee1

Junior
Reaction score
Well - my wine was finally ready to bottle and at the time of testing it looked really clear. When I got to the last bottle, which I didn't have enough to fill the whole bottle (due to spilling one of them), I poured it into a glass and it looked terrible - very cloudy.

There was about an 1" of sediment -is that normal? In the future, what is the best way to bottle without stirring up the bottom? <?:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" />

Also, as of yet - I still don't like the taste - it has somewhat of a "tangy" smell and taste (not vinegar though). Will this improve and get taster over time?

Little disappointed, but this is my first time. Any suggestions for the next batch will be greatly appreciated.

Dawn

Dawn,<?:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" />

Please do not get discouraged because of the taste of your wine right now. I would think the tangy taste will mellow over time...I have had a few batches like this. It could be dissolved C0<SUB>2</SUB> that didn't come out of solution when you added the finings and sulfite.

What are your plans for the storage conditions of your wine now that it is the bottle?

How long did you let it settle after adding the finings?

Increasing the time helps two ways, it will guarantee that all the fines havesettled out and also gives the sediment time to pack down some. Make sure you use a sediment tip on your racking cane...best to leave a small amount of wine behind than have to rerack the whole batch again.