1st Time Kit - New to Winemaking - Some Questions

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JG_UNC83

Junior
Reaction score
Hello; Let me 1st introduce myself. I'm new to winemaking but am a long-time home beer brewer. I've been lurking on the site for sometime as I researched taking up this new hobby.

Well, I made the plunge and just purchased a Malbec Kit from William Brewing. Its a very basic low-end 5 gallon kit but seems to get good reviews. The size also works well with my beer fermenting buckets and 5 gal carboys.

I"ve been reading alot of tweak threads on the site (Joe's long thread), and was wondering if anyone has any experience with this kit, or with any Williams' Red kits. Are there any recommendations or suggestions for improving the final product.

Have to admit I'm a bit torn between just doing my 1st kit per instructions versus tweaking to improve.

Any thoughts or advice are really appreciated.

Williams kits are not low end kits, they make really good wine. They are sparce with instructions. I generally follow a 180 day timeline with them.

Just got a petit syrah and a cab kit from them to start next week.

CMason, DrCAD; Thanks for the responses.

I am leaning towards doing the kits per instructions, which as DrCAD mentions are very sparse in the Williams Kits.

DrCAD, it sounds like you have experience with the Williams Kits. My description of low end may have been a bit harsh, and not intended to imply not good. The do get good reviews. I am curious, when you've made the kits do you just use the supplied ingredients? Or do you use (or plan to use) any mods that you feel will improve the wine?

I do plan to bulk age in a carboy for 4-6 months, and then in bottles for several more.

Thanks again.