16% ABV Monster

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jasper24

Reaction score
Good evening,

I am new to wine making barely 4 months into it. I got started with a recipe off the internet for watermelon wine and a prayer and now I am hooked.

After racking this weekend I came away with a SG reading of 1.008 and a ABV reading of 16%. My problem as I see it is this. I want this watermelon wine to be sparkling and I am unsure how to do it. The two ways i have found so far do not seem to me as if they are going to work.

One way calls for adding half a cup of sugar to 5 gallons of wine and bottling it and letting the yeast in the wine do the work and make it fizzy. The other way I read calls for adding sugar and yeast to each bottle as I bottle it and making it sparkle that way.

I don't see how either way will work. If I add sugar to the wine itself won't I be making a sweet wine sweeter and if I add sugar and yeast to each bottle won't the existing alcohol kill off any yeast I add?

Please help I am in dire need of assistance.

Thanks Hallie

Welcome!

16% alcohol and 2% residual sugar? That was a heavily loaded recipe, especially for watermelon. Most Sparkling wines that I know of tend to be low abv. I suspect part of that would be to allow a controlled fermentation in the bottle, creating the CO2 for your bubbly.

If the numbers you stated are correct, what you have is a stuck fermentation. Yeast will die when they run out of food (consumes the sugar) or the environment is toxic (abv 16-18% typically). If your numbers are right, I suspect the latter.

This was probably done on purpose per the recipe, so the sweetness of the wine will mask the high abv (% alcohol). So, it would be tough to get this one to sparkle, but if you do it again, shoot for 11-12% abv, then add your bottling sugar.

Hi, Hallie,