Vintner's Harvest for Newbie

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

crdman

Reaction score
Hello all, I am completely new to the art of wine making. I received a kit for my birthday about a year ago and just recently got serious about making my first batch. I decided to go with the Vintner's Harvest Strawberry Fruit Base for the first batch and it is really hard to understand the directions on the back of the can. After doing some research, talking to different people, and trying to following the instructions, this is kinda what I came up with on my own. Can anyone comment and let me know if this the right path to take?

Day 1
1. Sanitize all equipment and utensils with a general purpose sanitizer

2. Add all ingredients as directed on can label. Add 1 crushed Campden tablet per gallon and stir well to make sure sugar is dissolved

3. Stir well, cover with lid and let sit over night (24 hours) to allow SO2 to be released

Day 2
4. Sprinkle yeast on top of “must” (unfinished wine). Temperature should be between 70 – 80° F

5. Next day, gently stir must. Repeat daily until specific gravity lowers to 1.040 (4 – 5 days)

Day 6 - 7
6. When gravity reads 1.040, transfer must to secondary vessel, leaving behind as much of the settled solids as possible and top up with water to minimize air space. Attach fermentation lock

Day 21 - 28
7. Rack wine again (3 – 4 weeks) when gravity reads 1.010 to 1.000. Add 1 crushed Campden tablet per gallon of must

Day 60 - 90
8. After wine is clear (2 – 3 months), stabilize with crushed Campden tablet per gallon to prevent renewed fermentation, sweeten to taste if too dry. Enhance flavor and aroma with natural fruit flavor at this time if desired. Strawberry is a mild flavor and Strawberry wines will almost always benefit from the addition of Natural Fruit Flavors. Bottle