Sulfur Smell in Primary

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TwoBrothers

Junior
Reaction score
I am new to wine-making, and during my second batch, I noticed a rotten egg or sulfur smell in the primary fermentation phase. The smell started as soon as 36 hours after adding the yeast. I shortly realized I forgot to add the yeast nutrients which is causing the yeast to work overtime. I have since added the nutrient yeast. Will the sulfur smell dissipate naturally as fermentation continues? Is there any other step or procedure I should follow to remove any excess odor?

Thank you!

Welcome to WMT

Rotten egg reacts with organics to create mercaptans. These compounds are detected at parts per trillion where as fruity aromatics are parts per million. It will not go away by itself.
Good advice so far. I would suggest another step if it is still in the primary. A slow low temp ferment has lower risk of hydrogen sulfide smell. Can you decrease the temp example put milk jugs of ice in the primary? ,,, or I keep extra half gallons of juice in the freezer so I use them instead of water ice. What is your gravity? If above 1.010 I would still add Fermaid O, or any organic nutrient.

Last edited:
If it is still in the throws of fermentation, I’d be hesitant on adding too much SO2, for fear of a stuck fermentation (Check the yeast tolerance). My first choice would be to do a very aggressive splash rack, over and over, bucket to bucket and the smell should blow off. The extra oxygen won’t hurt the wine and help the yeast at this growth stage. Add nutrient and hopefully the yeast will get happy.

Welcome to WMT Two Brothers. A lot of helpful people on here.