Hello from Sonoma County

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hptasins

Junior
Reaction score
Hi,
I just discovered this forum today while searching for some info on making rosé. I was a winemaking intern in 2018 and 2019 at a small winery in Sonoma County (mostly Pinot Noir, a bit of Chard), and started making wine at home in 2020. I have a tiny vineyard - 8 PN vines - and make very small batches of wine at home with my own grapes and some donated grapes.

I've always wondered about batch size.
My small batches (1-3gal) seem to ferment dry and go through ML very fast - primary is often done in 4 days, and ML in less than a week. And not enough mass to really warm things up. Color on PN seems ok despite that, but body is thin. But low extraction seems to have worked out ok for the Tempranillo I made last year. :)

Nothing like arriving at the crush pad to see a 3T fermenter that overflowed because fermentation got a little too vigorous.

Hi,
I just discovered this forum today while searching for some info on making rosé. I was a winemaking intern in 2018 and 2019 at a small winery in Sonoma County (mostly Pinot Noir, a bit of Chard), and started making wine at home in 2020. I have a tiny vineyard - 8 PN vines - and make very small batches of wine at home with my own grapes and some donated grapes.
What's your yield from your 8 vines? I have 10 but this was only their 2nd full year (and I don't really know what I'm doing with pruning) and they put out a very small crop this year - enough for like 500 mL of pinot rosé. Probably destined to become topping off wine for the 1 gal saignee I did with my purchased PN grapes this year.