Flextank 15 gallon racking

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hennelly

Junior
Reaction score
Hello! I need help figuring out how to rack my wine in a 15g Flextank. Does anyone have a good resource for racking methods with a Flextank? This is my first year not using carboys only. I haven’t been able to find anything. Thanks!!

You need a pump. When you get above 5 or 6 gallons, weight becomes a serious issue. Even if you have the manpower to lift the container (assuming it's a liftable container), you REALLY don't want to do it. A lot of folks like the All-in-One pump. If you want a cheaper solution, LabelPeelers has a good pump for about $170.

For a destination container? Rubbermaid Brute garbage can. I have 32 gallon Brutes, purchased specifically for winemaking, NOT recycled from garbage use! ;)

You can find 20 and 24 gallon Brutes, but a triple kit (18 gallons) filled a 32 gallon brute about 3/4, so I'd not go smaller. It's far better the container is too big than too small ...

Thank you!!! One more question: Since the container is opaque, how do you know when you get to the lees? Do you put the hose in a specific depth?

You need a pump. When you get above 5 or 6 gallons, weight becomes a serious issue. Even if you have the manpower to lift the container (assuming it's a liftable container), you REALLY don't want to do it. A lot of folks like the All-in-One pump. If you want a cheaper solution, LabelPeelers has a good pump for about $170.

For a destination container? Rubbermaid Brute garbage can. I have 32 gallon Brutes, purchased specifically for winemaking, NOT recycled from garbage use! ;)

You can find 20 and 24 gallon Brutes, but a triple kit (18 gallons) filled a 32 gallon brute about 3/4, so I'd not go smaller. It's far better the container is too big than too small ...