Corking

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jessman

Junior
Reaction score
<TABLE id=HB_Mail_Container height="100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0 UNABLE="on">
<T>
<TR height="100%" width="100%" UNABLE="on">
<TD id=HB_Focus_Element vAlign=top width="100%" background="" height=250 UNABLE="off">

I am new to winemaking. First batch a rousing success. ( Green Apple Riesling)

I bought bottles and on the box it had #8x 1 1/2 cork. But I have read here to use #9 for long term storage. I was wondering the proper way to prepare the cork?

I use a two handled corker that presses the cork thru a tapered channel and into the bottle. Alot of corks have broken off pieces going in. I soaked in warm water for 30 minutes before and they went in with some pressure. I opened a few bottles and the corks were soft. What corks should I use and how is the RIGHT way to prepare them.</TD></TR>
<TR UNABLE="on" hb_tag="1">
<TD style="FONT-SIZE: 1pt" height=1 UNABLE="on">
<DIV id=hotbar_promo></TD></TR></T></TABLE>

Jessman,<?:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" />

Congratulations on a successful first batch. After a more than 20-year lapse, I have resumed wine making again this year. With only two batches in the bottle and two working, I am also a newbie.

Asa newbie, I am also confused about the correct way to prepare corks. I have read to soak corks. I have read don’t soak corks, just rinse with a sulfite solution. I have read that corks should be inserted dry. I believe the last option would be difficult with a hand corker.