AllInOneWinePump vs Blichmann Pump

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StevieRay

Junior
Reaction score
I am interested in getting a vacuum system primarily for degassing my wine. I am pretty new to the hobby (brewing beer for years though) and actually am stil working on my first three batches. I initially removed the gas using a drill and whip, but I am not sure that was real successful. I looked around and found a hand pump solution, and I was surprised at how much gas was still in the wine. That and I got tired of the hand pumping about 30 seconds after starting the effort.

The two pumps I have found that look worthwhile are the Blichmann and the AllInOneWinePump. The Blichmann is sold by a local brew store and comes setup to pull gas from the wine (I think this pump is normally used for a wine press). It looks really well built, and it has a very nice inline valve to prevent liquid from get into the pump. I would have to add some stops and lines to set it up for degassing while racking, but that would be easy enough.

The AllInOne is what it says, it comes with everything. But, it is about $75 more, and it requires a more involved setup using a empty wine bottle as the check valve. It is primarily setup for degassing while racking and it comes with everything necessary to use it out of the box.

Are there any recommendations for either pump? Or is it really just a matter of picking up which ever one has the best price? And I have read the information on AllInOne and the site states that degassing during racking is a much better way to degas wine. Would this audience agree? Or is it just as effective to put a pump on the carboy for 90 minutes?