How many use conicals?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ambassador

Junior
Reaction score
Although I am still new to winemaking I am quickly developing disdain for siphons and repeated racking so I've been eyeballing conical fermenters (Fastferment, Brewtech.) I know these generally lend themselves more to beer than wine but I'm hoping to cross over to doing some beer soon. My search of the forums quickly turned up conflicting opinions (especially stuff on the earlier Fastferment model.) Is anybody on here using either of these and do you like them for making wine? Do you rack to carboy for final aging or leave it in the conical?

IMHO, the money required to get conicals would be better spent simply purchasing a vacuum pump that will eliminate the need for siphons and help you with racking, degassing and bottling. YMMV, of course.

I can see how the pump makes transfers much easier (and now I want one =) , but doesn't a conical have the ability to eliminate them completely? Not trying to split hairs or be argumentative, I just want make sure I'm understanding the pros and cons here aside from cost.

Last edited:
I haven't tried any of the conical options, but now after several months of use I can confidently recommend the Speidel 30L plastic fermenter. It's well worth the price and makes bottling as easy as a vacuum pump set up, and almost as fast as a 1/2" auto-siphon. Definitely a nice alternative to plastic buckets.

I can see how the pump makes transfers much easier (and now I want one =) , but doesn't a conical have the ability to eliminate them completely? Not trying to split hairs or be argumentative, I just want make sure I'm understanding the pros and cons here aside from cost.

I would read the All In One Pump review thread.