WMT (Unofficial) 2014 Port Wine Contest

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dangerdave

Chief Bottlewasher
Reaction score
Ok, we're up and running! :D

This competition will be for home made port or port style wines (no kits). Send in your best (if you like) and we'll see how we all stack up. The one condition to entry is the winners (1st and 2nd place) agree to share their recipe with us all. I, personally---since I'm new to port making---would love to add some great port recipes to my repertoire. These winners, if they are willing, can be our judges for next years event.

Our judges will be Deezil and Duster. You two please PM me your shipping addresses and I'll forward them to our competitors. Let's shoot for getting one bottle each (size is your option) to our esteemed judges by the end of this month, so perhaps they can use the July 4th festivities for a tasting event of their choice.

:dg

Judges, if you will, please give each contestant some feedback on their port, through a PM if possible, after your judging.

If all goes well, we'll do this each year around the same time. Sound good everyone?

So far, these members have shown interest:

dangerdave
franki1926
ColemanM
JohnT
Runningwolf
4score
vacuumpumpman
joeswine

Wow! What a great group! If you are on the above list please varify your entry below.

Last edited:
Sounds good Dave.

Question - where do you source your 375 bottles?

Sounds good Dave.

Question - where do you source your 375 bottles?

The ones I have gotten have been from a place here in Ohio called Labelpeelers. I use them because they are close by. They might not be the best deal for someone in California, but you can check them out online. Amazon.com also sells a variety of 375's.

Sounds good can't wait to kick this off. I'm assuming we will have scoring cards or categories to judge to?