Ph Testing meter Prices(advice?)

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

corinth

Reaction score
I want to buy a Ph tester for wine making( I am a newbie) as I feel I am ready for the next step but do not know which one to buy. I have looked at several forums and have come up with the following types and prices. I know nothing about these models other than what is stated in forums and Amazon where people rate them.

Omega PHH-5021 : Omega labs $50.00
Oakton Ph tester 20 double function $94.00
Oakton Ph tester 30: $146
Oakton Ph11 $325.00
Precision Ph-013 from Valley Vintner $89.00
Hanna Instruments H198127 $98.00
Hanna Instruments HI98127 $100.00
Milwaukee Ph 56 $64.00
Milwaukee MW102 $145.00
Milwaukee MW 101 $100.00
Extech Ph 110 $91.00
Vinmetrica 100 $245.00
Vinmetrica SC300 $353.00
E-35-300-1(TE-35-421) from Valley Vintner $145.00
Hach H series H 138 minilab $250.00

First, I hope I put this in the right place--I did my best.

Second, If I got the letters or numbers wrong, I apologize.
Third, Prices did vary according to website.
Fourth, I did leave out most models over $300.00 since I am a beginner,$300.00 is a bit high.

Any suggestions for this beginner?

If you can spring for it, the Vinmetrica 300 is awesome. It tests for pH, SO2, and TA. These three are about all you need for grape wine making. I also have $40-$50 Hanna pH meter that works fine too. Good luck.

Gary

I am in no position to make any evaluations or educated opinions on the above but I want to share with everyone that
1. I truly appreciate your educated and/or professional recommendations
2. So far, your recommendations correlate highly with those recommendations found on this website and others.

Thank You!