Persimmon wine recipe

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

winefan2

Junior
Reaction score
A friend of mine has picked 60# wild persimmon's can anyone help with a recipe. thanks

Thanks Appleman, These are the native persimmons and I do believe I will give it a try. The Jack Keller link is great. Thanks again.

I am very new at this, but I ordered my first winemaking stuff because there is a persimmon tree in front of my house. Like appleman said, that's the recipe I found too and as long as you stick with it is good. At first I tried experimenting with 10 things at once in the first batch, bad idea (case in point Lalvin ec1118 and 15%+ ABV). Since then I've used Montracet, and although not fully aged, definitely tastes like there is potential there for good wine. It is lighter in color after fermentation than you might expect though.
Oh, and I prepared them by freezing, putting in warm water for less than a minute, and peeling away the thawed skin leaving most of the pulp behind. Knife to the stem and into the straining bag, seemed to work wellEdited by: suprasteve