Help making a pumpkin wine.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Phrinkle

Junior
Reaction score
I am fairly new to wine making, working on a batch of pumpkin wine. I wanted to make use of a bin I found of nice looking pumpkins for $1 a piece, so I thought I'd give pumpkin wine a try. I carefully washed, then destemmed, seeded and cut up 5 8 lb Jackolantern style pumpkins and also 3 4 lb pie pumpkins. I then cooked them down in my 6.5 gallon turkey fryer for about 6 hours until everything fell apart. I had to cook part of the pumpkins a while until the volume reduced enough to add the rest. After cooking, I added 10 lbs of sugar and let it rest overnight to cool down. I was expecting the pumpkins to cook down to liquid like consistancy, but by morning, I had pumpkin pudding. It's quite thick and was actually really good just by itself. very nice strong pumpkin flavor. I am planning a trip to the wine store to get some amylase or maybe a mixture of enzymes to help break down all the starch and pectin holding everything together. Right now it is bubbling nicely away all thick and goopy like.

Do you guys think the enzymes will be enough to turn this goop into wine eventually, or do I need to make this batch into 2 batches with the addition of water and more sugar. This stuff is so thick, I can't even get a proper hydrometer reading.

You need to read the other pumpkin thread on here. I am doing a pumpkin wine (6 gal.) and it too was too thick for a reading. It's bubbling along and getting thinner maybe tonight or tomorrow I can get a reading.

Hope you are using sweet pumpkins not the kind you cut up for halloween. Not sure how they would taste. I'll post the link to the other thread in a moment.

It's several pages but start here...

http://www.winemakingtalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5370

Welcome aboard!!