I think... i added too much sugar

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rene525d

Junior
Reaction score
Hi all,

this is my first time making wine. I am Rene from Malta and I used 300KG of San Giovese graped. I crushed them all in a large tank, and when i took the readings with the hydrometer the juice at the top read .075 on the hydrometer (10% alcohol) and .090 at the bottom of the tank (12% alcohol). The juice from the grapes should amount to around 150 Litres. Now... the stupid part... i wanted the wine to have 14% alcohol, and the hydrometer instructions instructed me to add 9KG of sugar to achieve that volume. I dissolved the sugar is 10 liters of water, and added it in the tank. An hour later i take the readings:

Top of tank: 1100 (14.9% alcohol)
Bottom of tank: 1120 (16.3% alcohol) <-- This marks in the dessert wine range on the hydrometer.

Did i really add too much sugar? Will the wine be sweet? I added 60g of yeast and 60g of yeast nutrient as well. Should i add water to reduce the sugar content? I do not like sweet wine.

I added 7KG not 9KG as stated by the instructions however i think it i still added a lot!

Hello, Rene, and welcome to the forum.

I am not quite clear on why you are getting different readings at the top and bottom of the tank. Perhaps you need to mix the wine thoroughly, as with a large paddle, and then take a reading. Also, with such a high sugar content I am curious as to what type of yeast you used. Has fermentation started and if so, is it vigorous?