Fruit Flies

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am new to the wine making forum and have really enjoyed reading all the informative posts and now I have a question. I seem to have attracted numerous fruit flies around my primary fermentation vessels. Is there anything I can do to help eliminate these nasty pests? I am a very clean person and bugs really bother me so it is not that I am not being sanitary they just really want to get to my wine!

Thanks for any help!

Welcome cowgirlallison.....Hope you stay awhile.

I get the creeps when those fruit flies circle too. I keep the fermentaion vessel tightly covered with a peice of fabric held down with a string and rubber band....and...when I do open it make sure is is only briefly and keep an eye on it.....Soon you will transfer it to a carboy where it will be safely under an airlock.

This is the season for fruit flies around here too... I have been keeping all the fruit and tomtoes out of the house this year.

I have heard people set 'traps' with little bowls full of apple cider vinegar and dish soap...it never worked very well for me, but worth a try.

What wines do you have fermenting????

You can take a plasticsoda bottle and cut off the top were its starts to bottle neck up. wash it good. Put some juice or a banana peal in the bottom , than turn the top you cut off upside down then tape around the edge. The flys will fly inside and wont be able to get back out. well most of them. Allot will drown in the juice at the bottom.
<DIV id=ms__id14>Clean up every drop of juice or sager items in the area if not the whole house. Keeping an asolating fan on in the room helps deter them too. They don't like windy environments.
<DIV id=ms__id15>