WineXpert Newbie- Florida

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bplewniak

Reaction score
Hello fellow wine kit making enthusiasts. I'm new to this hobby after attending a dinner party hosted by someone who made their own wine from kits. Im by no means a wine expert but enjoy drinking it.

Since then, I've purchased 6 kits (thank you LP for your 40% discount). I imagine my next purchase will come around Black Friday. Will there be decent deals then?

Carboy- cru international Washington merlot. Followed the kit instructions.

Primary- eclipse Chardonnay. Following kit instructions.

Extended fermentation- eclipse Lodi cab.

On deck- WE Eclipse Sauvignon Blanc, WE Esclipse stags merlot,and WE selection Amerone.

After reading reviews and videos online, I see no downside to the extended fermentation process of 8-12 weeks. I plan to make all my reds this way to start. I also plan to leave out sorbate, potassium metabisulphite and fining agents. These will sit in a carboy for 3 month cycles up to 6-12 months before bottling.

Questions:
1) Being in Florida, what issues do you see me having? I keep my AC on 79.
2) humidity here is always high. Will this be an issue?
3) For my extended fermentation of my Lodi Cab, do you recommend I add the oak cubes to this process (4 days in right now), or add after transferring to a carboy? Oak chips were added on day one that came with the kit.

I appreciate your feedback and I'm thankful for this forum. It's so hard starting out and not having a good inventory. I recently did a Costco run and picked up a few cases to hold me over till my kits mature. I look forward to seeing how these turn out over time. I've enjoyed the process so far and excited to see if I can make a drinkable product to share with friends and family.

Last edited: