Sour cherry wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RichB

Junior
Reaction score
Hi, my cherry tree is laden with sour cherries.. I'm looking for a simple recipe using around 3lb of cherries, but can't seem to find one.. Any help appreciated...

you need to use at least 5 pounds of cherries, add enough sugar to bring sg around 1.080 and ph should be around 3.5 - 3.6, add a little tannins and nutrients and you are good to go!

What Julie said! Really, take her advice and don't shortchange the cherries. 5-6 pounds per gallon makes a really terrific cherry wine.

Thanks for the replies... Roughly how much sugar should be added? I'm not too sure how to reach the sg by adding a bit of sugar at a time...
Tannin? Cold tea?
Also how do I go about finding the ph?
Sorry for asking what sounds simple questions.., but I'm fairly new at this :)

So far I've made (last year) banana wine, tastes great, but leaving it until next year before sampling more .. Also blackberry wine.., that's also pretty good given my inexperience..

This year (last week) I started a black currant wine.., seems to be going ok..

Might have to buy more cherries as I don't think there's 5-6lb on the tree..

Thanks

I can't tell you how much sugar, sorry. You really need to learn how to read the hydrometer. You should be able to buy test strips at your local brew shop to test ph.

So I basically start 6lb of cherries, 1 gallon of boiled water over them., add say 1lb of sugar, then check reading?, and add more a bit a a time until reading gets near to what it should be?
Will order ph strips online

So I basically start 6lb of cherries, 1 gallon of boiled water over them., add say 1lb of sugar, then check reading?, and add more a bit a a time until reading gets near to what it should be?
Will order ph strips online