First time making wine from fresh juice

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rocky

Chronologically Gifted Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
This is my first time making wine from fresh juice in buckets and I am asking any of the experienced juice bucket wine makers if there is anything in particular I should be looking for.

I have three wines going and the fermentation, while steady, is not very vigorous. The foam is made up of very small bubbles unlike some of the kits I have made.

Any cautions or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Rocky,

You got this from Luva Bella's, I believe I seen you had posted that. All my buckets that I have gotten from them so far seem to have fermented gently but steady. Nothing special needs to be done, just watch to make sure you don't have a stuck fermentation. In case you are interested they use Lavlin 1118 yeast.

Thanks, Julie. I did use Lalvin EC 1118. Good to know that fermentation is slow but steady. The only one I am concerned about at this point is a 4 gallon batch of Muscat (Moscato). It is really slow, but it started at SG 1.099 on 9/13 and as of last evening was down to 1.076. I will watch it today and may have to give it some help.

Keep the tremps in the 70's if you can.

You can't rush it so....

Practice the "3 P's"

Give it a stirring 2x a day. All my juice from Luva Bella took off with no problems. I do add nutrient to all my primaries and stir mornign and night until transferred to carboy.

Stirring several times a day will move the yeast around and release excess CO2 making it easier for the yeast to breath. We have cooler temps these last few days so if you can move it to a slightly warmer area that will help. Get it off the floor. Even if it's on a piece of plywood away from concrete or on a counter the temps can be a few degrees warmer.