Please help, I'm a newbie

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dozer15

Junior
Reaction score
Brand new to site and wine making but it sounds like a lot of fun. I don't know how to get started. Would a kit be the best place to start and then try recipes from there?

Yes - Kits are a good place to start because they have a high success rate and will give you confidence and you can learn the art. Once you have a few under your belt then you can try concentrates, then frozen grape buckets and maybe even grow your own.

OH - forgot. Welcome to the site. This is a really good site and the people are nice. Make sure you complete all your profile info so we know where you are from and when you ask questions its good to provide too much information rather than quick questions without any background. Most of us will want to know all the info before we give advice.

You will like wine making. Its very fun and rewarding, not to mention cost effective for the quality of wine you can enjoy!!

welcome!!! and yup kits r great!! i started with em and still use em (specialy a brezzing or mist kit when i dont wanna wait to age LOL)

Thanks for the advise and I will update my profile. Any other advise as to finding a reasonably priced kit?

Call George here http://www.finevinewines.com/
Always better to start with a (kit) wine you like. George can help you out as well as steering you to the right equipment starter kit.

Dozer:

There are two meanings for the word kit.

I suspect that you meant an equipment kit, ie pail, carboy, accessories.

I think that most of the above responses meant "yes buy a wine kit", ie a box containing grape juice/concentrate, yeast, additives, and instructions.

Tom has the right idea. Contact a reputable retailer and get both, If there isn't one local to you, then contact George as Tom suggested.