Crabapple Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

geocorn

Vendor
Reaction score
I received this email today:

"I'm new to home wine making and I'm in need of your help
the crabapple wine recipe calls for 4 1/2 lbs of apples - approx how
much juice does this yield?
This past fall I juiced the crabapple' s and froze the juice. How much
juice should I use?"

I have never made crabapple wine, so any help would be appreciated.

Edited by: geocorn

I have been making Crabapple wine for a few years and have been changing the recipes and getting better results each time....
I have been steam juicing the crabapples and have these facts in my notes.

The last batches that I juiced I did 20# of crabapples and got 6 1/2 quarts of juice.

My recipe for the last batch I bottled was as follows:

CRABAPPLE/APPLE WINE

- 9 1/2 quarts of juice....[so was likely 25# + or so of fruit]
- 5 cartons Old Orchard frozen Apple Juice concentrate
- 1 500 mil bottle of WinExpert Red Grape Concentrate [this was to insure a nice red color...and...it did] [this is optional]

ADD:
* 'The Usual Cast of Characters'

- 5 Campden Tablets [crushed]
- 3 tsp. Acid Blend
- 2 tsp. Liquid Tannin
- 5# sugar to bring S.G. to 1090 [or your desired alcohol content] and water to 5 gallons

Next day ADD:
- 2 1/2 tsp Pectic Enzyme
- 5 tsp Yeast Nutrient
- 2 1/2 tsp Yeast energizer
- Lalvin EC 1118 Yeast

Ferment in usual way and clear with SUPER- KLEER K-C...

This recipe was really nice, had a great Apple flavor.

You can easily just use Crabapple juices and get a nice wine.

The firstbatch I made was from the book 'Winemaking' by Anderson & Anderson...I used

- 8 Quarts of juice [20#[ steam extracted juice]
- 2 - 500 mil bottles of WinExpert White Grape Concentrate