crabapple wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

johnthemc

Reaction score
Hi everyone.
I just passed a neighbor's house and realized that the huge tree in his yard is loaded with crabapples. I normally do not take this road home and never really took notice to the tree but probably never passed when it had fruit.
Being a beginner, my question is can wine be made from crabapples? And if so would someone be able to give me a receipe and directions to follow.
I would very much appreciate any info.
Thank You,
John

being new myself I can just say that jack keller has one on his website.I've read alot on here say he dosen"t use enough fruit but this is only second hand info. I hope that helps.

Only the big ones called Dolgo and I used to make it every year and its very good. I dont drink anywhere near as much wine as I make so I still have a decent supply of it or Id be making more. Its very very good as a sparkling wine! Here is a pic of the size of Dolgo's so you know what they look like.

crab in hand.jpg

I made crab apple last year and need to bottle. Use apple concentrate to add some extra flavor and help with the acid. I froze mine after washing off. Cut in half still frozen removing many pits/seeds and stems. Added pectic enzyme shortly after they thawed then yeast next day.

I took it to prob. 1.080 to start. May have added raisins too. I'll look later when I get home. I too pass a c. a. tree and they look ripe now.

Sparkling huh Wade. Just may try that. Did you for e inject or second fermentation?