Red Headed Stepchild

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jswordy

Reaction score
Well, here's my first beer recipe, Red Headed Step Child. An Extra Special Bitter (ESB), it should be a red beer when all is said and done.

Steeping my grain mix...

Boiling the bittering hops...

I could not keep my nose out of the empty Brew's Gold bag! Wow!

After 10 minutes of aroma hops, the cool-down...

All in all, a good day! The wort was so good, I let some from the trub leftovers settle a bit in a wine glass and had a few sips as it was. I tasted it throughout. Should turn out nice! Fingers crossed.

not much of a beer maker...as I say that ,I have kits- a honey ale and a pilsner as well as a cider in secondaries, but I love your pics.Is this a heavy beer or like a lager?(newbie beer question I'm sure).

I'm a newb to it, too. This one is an Extra Special Bitter, an ale style that falls somewhere between an English bitter and a Scottish ale. My first self-made recipe. It has more hop than either English or Scottish ales, but the Maris Otter malt shines through, too. It will also have a red color and biscuity flavor from the steeping grains.

My beer is bubbling away today in primary.

Pilsner! Didn't that require lagering? I'm doing ales now because I don't have a good lagering setup and the weather down here tends to stay warm in winter.

Good luck! Post some pix if you can.

I love English style. I have some Bedford British slurry itching to come out of the fridge for either an ESB or a Northern Brown.

Man, you must have one heck of an ice maker to chill that way. Why not a small immersion chiller?

I love English style. I have some Bedford British slurry itching to come out of the fridge for either an ESB or a Northern Brown.

Man, you must have one heck of an ice maker to chill that way. Why not a small immersion chiller?