Setting up trellises

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm new to this, and when installing trellis wire on my first couple runs I simply wrapped the wire around the end post once, put a few staples around the post and wrapped the wire around itself. I now know that high tensile wire weakens when you do that, but my question is how much of an issue is this? My trellises are only 50 ft long. I am not going to install wires this way going forward (I am planning on using crimpers), but do I need to take these wires down and redo them? Thdy seem strong. I don't want to waste the wire, but if there's a chance they will break in the future then I will. I'll try to send pictures. Thanks!

I think you are fine. As salcoco says, there are tightened you can get that wrap on the wire. The ones I use are called Gallaghers. My trellises are ~150 feet, I just wrap the wire rather than use crimps. While it does weaken the wire to wrap it, work hardens, the wrapped part isn't under tension. I haven't had any problem with breakage to dare.

Great. Thanks for the replies. I put large turnbuckles on the anchor wires for my end posts so I can tighten them up. Is that enough, or do I definitely need wire strainers?

I guess i dont really understand how they work...will I have to remove the staples holding the wire onto the ends posts?

I guess i dont really understand how they work...will I have to remove the staples holding the wire onto the ends posts?

I have two different types. One is a roller with a gear for tightening.

The other is a pulley that you slip over an existing wire and turn to wrap the wire around it.

The second one will work with wires you have already run.

IMG_0121.JPG

IMG_0122.JPG