Peach Wine Not Peachy

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmac1961

Junior
Reaction score
I am new to wine making and tried a peach wine for my first attempt (I had a lot of peaches this year). I racked the wine and tasted it. It does not taste peachy. I would describe the taste more like a Chardonnay or a Riesling. Is this normal for a peach wine.

Like above.. You need to make a F-Pac and backsweeten.

Post the recipe so we can help more for the next batch...

I am new to wine making and tried a peach wine for my first attempt (I had a lot of peaches this year). I racked the wine and tasted it. It does not taste peachy. I would describe the taste more like a Chardonnay or a Riesling. Is this normal for a peach wine.

2 1/2 lbs peaches
7 pts water
2 lbs sugar
3 tsp acid blend
1/4 tsp tannin
1 tsp nutrient
1 pkg yeast

I made a 5 gallon batch, so I increased all these accordingly.

So, being new what is an f pack and how do you back sweeten. I did not find these in my recipe book.

2 1/2 lbs peaches
7 pts water
2 lbs sugar
3 tsp acid blend
1/4 tsp tannin
1 tsp nutrient
1 pkg yeast

So, being new what is an f pack and how do you back sweeten. I did not find these in my recipe book.

Yeah - your peach count is way low. Should have been 6 pounds per gallon. That is probably why you don't have much flavor or aroma.

f-pac = flavor pac - here is the link on how to make that:

http://www.winemakingtalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7547

Back sweetening is just add a simple syrup to taste when the wine has been stabilized. The simple syrup is made with water/must and sugar - 2 parts to 1.

2 parts sugar 1 part water/must.

2 1/2 lbs peaches
7 pts water
2 lbs sugar
3 tsp acid blend
1/4 tsp tannin
1 tsp nutrient
1 pkg yeast